Book Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

It’s summer break! And so I’m back with spending quality time with my books. Ahh I missed this. First book I’ve read since the start of vacation was “Will Grayson, Will Grayson” By John Green and David Levithan. If you think this book is not for you and is full of silliness that makes it not worth your time, you’re wrong. I REPEAT, you’re wrong!

This book is worth every single millisecond that you spend by flipping through its pages and reading through the lines. It’s funny, smart, sweet, and strikes right through the heart. I love how it started and I definitely, truly, unquestionably love how it ended. Now I want to share to you some of the lines from the book which I find so true and so beautifully written that it will leave you with no words, just a head nodding up and down and a mouth curved up to a big smile.

w.g = John Green’s o.w.g= David Levithan’s

“You like someone who can’t like you back because unrequited love can be survived in a way that once-requited love cannot. ”

Ooh I loved that. This was supposed to be w.g’s answer to that rhetorical question of “why would you like someone who can’t like you back” which tiny dropped. But he didn’t say it because he was trying to follow his rule 2: Shut up.

“When things break, it’s not the actual breaking that prevents them from getting back together again. It’s because a little piece gets lost – the two remaining ends couldn’t fit together even if they wanted to. The whole shape has changed.”

I always wonder how to best describe what happens when a friendship gets tainted or when trust gets broken and how or why it’s never the same again no matter how you try to fix it. And here is John Green perfectly putting it into words. It’s because a little piece gets lost. I loved that. 🙂

“I feel like my life is so scattered right now. Like it’s all the small pieces of paper and someone’s turned on the fan. But, talking to you makes me feel like the fan’s been turned off for a little bit. Like things could actually make sense. You completely unscatter me, and I appreciate that so much.”

So much feels on those words! David Levithan you are one of a kind. That last line goes right through the heart. It’s so sweet i just can’t.

“this is why we call people exes, I guess – because the paths that cross in the middle end up separating at the end. it’s too easy to see an X as a cross-out. it’s not, because there’s no way to cross out something like that. the X is a diagram of two paths.”

Aww. This was said by o.w.g. I never saw it that way. It makes sense tho. Now I’ll always see it that way. 😦 🙂

“So, according to the theory that electrons are in all-possible-positions until they are measured, the cat is both alive and dead until we open the box and find out if it is alive or dead.

It seems to me that all the things we keep in sealed boxes are both alive and dead until we open the box, that the unobserved is both there and not.

Eventually, they figured out that keeping the box closed doesn’t actually keep the cat alive-and-dead. Even if you don’t observe the cat in whatever state it’s in, the air in the box does. So keeping the box closed just keeps you in the dark, not the universe.”

It’s plainly ingenious of John Green to use the Schrodinger’s Cat paradox as an analogy for relationships and how it is sometimes scary to open the box and to find out if everything’s fine or not. Because knowing will lead you to one side or another. It will lead you to a decision which you might not yet be ready to take. But it’s all about taking the risk. Because in the end, keeping the box closed just keeps you in the dark, not the universe.

“Being in a relationship, that’s something you choose. Being friends, that’s just something you are. [But] I do pick you. We’ve been friends too long to pick, but if we could pick, I’d pick you.”

 “I’d pick you”. THIS ACTUALLY MADE ME TEARY EYED. To my best friends! I love you guys. We’ve been friends too long to pick, but if we could pick, I’d pick you!

“now, if there’s anything stupider than buddy lists, its lol. if anyone ever uses lol with me, i rip my computer right out of the wall and smash it over the nearest head. i mean, it’s not like anyone is laughing out loud about the things they lol. i think it should be spelled loll. like what a lobotomized person’s tongue does. loll. loll. i can’t think anymore. loll. loll! or ttyl. bitch, you’re not actually talking. that would require actual vocal contact or < 3. you honestly think that looks like a heart? if you do, that’s only because you’v never seen scrotum. (rofl! what? are you really rolling on the floor laughing? well, please stay down there a sec while i KICK YOUR ASS)”

Just as the cover says, “It’s funny, rude, and original” =))))))) Hahahahha I died laughing reading that. Glad I never use “lol” or “rofl”. But hey! I use that < 3 heart sign a LOT. and NEVER did it hit me that it looked like a scrotum. Probably because I’ve never seen one HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA WTF.

“this blue shirt i have is practically the same color as my jeans, and looking all-blue is something only cookie monster can pull off.”

This made me laugh hysterically =)))))))) “all-blue is something only cookie monster can pull off.” I agree, I agree. =))))) And, lastly……

“Maybe there’s something you’re afraid to say, or someone you’re afraid to love, or somewhere you’re afraid to go. It’s gonna hurt. It’s gonna hurt because it matters.”

Tiny’s words of wisdom. *Nods in agreement*. It’s gonna hurt because it matters. Don’t waste time looking for a way where there’s no pain and it won’t hurt because as long as it matters, it’s always, always gonna hurt. And that shouldn’t stop you. Because it’s gonna hurt but it’s all worth it.

I’m just glad I got to read this book! I rate it 5 stars! Thumbs up, arms up, and feet clap to John Green and David Levithan!

I’m Hanna Marielle B. Calacat, and I appreciate you a helluva lot, tiny cooper. 🙂

t

Leave a Reply

