I Feel Joy: An Inside Out Movie Review

I was supposed to post this a week ago but failed to do so. Anyway, I have watched Inside Out!!!! It was such a wooonderful movie. Pixar Animation Studios never fails to impress me. The characters, the story line, and the animation.. Everything was commendable.

I actually believe that a book is a great one if by the time I’ve finished reading, it has changed me in some or many ways. And that goes just the same as with movies. Movies that touch your heart, or make you laugh, or make you reminisce, or make you reflect, or make you dream, or make you remember about yourself: these are the ones that affect us, and in little ways change us. Inside out, I believe, is one of those.

In the movie, I could relate the most with Joy. She makes Riley a happy girl: fun, quirky, cheerful, and optimistic. I see myself just like Joy: always trying to see the good side in every situation, and always choosing to be happy than sad. But I’ve always been a cry- baby when watching movies. What’s weird is that almost all of my friends burst into tears on that part where Bing Bong got left behind in the Memory Dump. But I didn’t. That sure was a sad sad part but what really made me cry was (1) when Joy cried. She’s supposed to be joyful all the time but she freaking cried! Can you believe that. I feel like I’ve went through what she was going through. Where so much is happening around you and it’s all new, and scary, and unsure, and you’ve already tried so much but it still isn’t enough, and you feel like no one understands you and you’re all alone in there. You’re trying to be strong but it’s like your heart is so full it’s about to burst. And I guess I remembered myself there. That’s why I cried so much when Joy cried. (2) when she handed Sadness all the core memories, which all turned blue, and let Sadness take control of Riley. That moment spoke to me, like it’s saying that every once in a while it’s okay to be lonely, to not be okay, to not be the happy girl, to be vulnerable. At some point, we have to let all those accumulated feelings inside us out to feel better.

I feel Joy. I guess I’m 80% Joy, 3%Anger, 5% Sadness, 5% Disgust, 7% Fear. Generally =)))) Most of the time (HAHA).

Lastly, Inside Out reminds us that making decisions when you’re angry is not advisable. Better yet, cool down and decide once you’re calm and feeling better. Deciding when anger is in control could only result to disaster, and you regretting in the end 🙂

LOVED THIS PART 😦

[when trying to get out of The Dump, Joy looks at the blue Core Memory and looks at a forgotten memory]

Joy: You remember how she used to stick her tongue out when she was coloring?

[Joy picks another forgotten memory up and looks at it]

Joy: I could listen to her stories, all day.

[Joy picks up a third one]

Joy: I just wanted Riley to be happy…

[holding the three forgotten memories and the blue Core Memory, she breaks down into tears]

Ugh, my heart. Inside Out is a must watch! I’m giving it 5/5 stars! 🙂

Inside Out

*Photo Disclaimer* (Found this on the web)

Interpretation: When our emotions add up, it can form into more complex ones like melancholy, surprise, righteousness etc. Meaning, as we grow older our emotions begin to blend and form more complicated feelings. How cool is that!

Inside Out Poster

Rating: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

